Daily Archives: June 2, 2012

May Summary/June Goals

I want to start making summaries of months and goals for the next month. To see my progress and changes in my life. Also, to think about things I wish to accomplish.

May 2012 Summary

–Ran my first double digit runs. No stopping me now!

Ran Survived the Cellcom Green Bay Marathon: it was hot. Some people didn’t get official times. I was lucky enough to finish and have my time counted. Rockstar.

–Signed up for the Bellin Run 10k

Nike+ watch took a poop. Had to buy a new one.

–Started my MARATHON training

–Got a new job! Good bye Walmart, it’s been a great 2.5 years.

–Moved back in with my parents. Hoping to save money so I can move out on my own and be a grown up.

–Changed my blog’s name

LOTS of changes in May. Things coming to an end and things just beginning. It’s been a roller coaster of emotions. Highs and lows. Good times and bad. But now that month is done and onto June!

June 2012 goals

–JUNEATHON: It’s begun! (day 1 and day 2) This month will be full of fitness and fun (and sweat)

–More strength training: I’ve been really slacking in this area of my cross-training. Hopefully with Juneathon I will get back into more of a routine. There have been some great work outs posted in Women’s Health that I want to try out.

–Running Group: I did my first group run this morning and it was fantastic. I will definitely keep going to them. I know the Fleet Feet store in Appleton also does group runs that I am interested in and I would love participate in those as well.

–Sign up for the Fox Cities Marathon and one other race on my schedule: I would like to sign up for the Marathon this month before the price goes up. And to sign up for either the Firecracker 5k or Packers 5k.

–Go to the YMCA and take a spinning class: We’ll see.

–Take more pictures: I take pictures for Project 365, but I want to be taking more flower pictures. I went to the Green Bay Botanical Gardens last month and I would like to go to the Appleton Gardens in June.

–Visit at least one friend: I want to visit my cousin, Amanda, in Madison. Or my friend, Tom, who also lives in Madison. Maybe I could visit both! Awesome.

–Finish ONE book: I know this is a sad goal. One book? Really? Yes, I know at the beginning of the year I had set the lofty goal of 25 books, and I really don’t see that happening, due to the fact that I’ve only read two books this year. I’m going to start with this one book goal for June and see what happens.

There they are, June Goals. Bring on summer! 🙂

Categories: exercise, health, Juneathon, life, photography, project 365, racing, running, strength training, summer | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

Juneathon Day 2: Group Run

I went to my first run with the running group I joined!

Each Saturday until the Fox Cities Marathon in September, they do training runs to help people get prepared. There are routes for the half-marathon and full marathon. It’s free to participate and there are refreshments after and even water stations along the course!

I was really nervous going this morning because I didn’t know anyone. I have done two races the PaceSetters have put on (St. Joe’s and Run 4 Home) and they always do a nice job.

When I arrived at the meeting point (Runaway Shoes in Darboy), the lady who was in charge was really nice and told me what I needed to do. I had to sign a waiver and told me that there were Port-a-potties at the side of the building. Also, there were little ID holders that we used to put the directions of the route in. I thought that was a good idea, so no one would get lost.

After some group stretches, we were off and running at 7:00. I forgot to start my watch right away (nervous), and I ended up starting a little faster than I would have liked. Oops. And I sort of got caught up in the moment. It was almost like running a race with all the people (about 50), so it was a little exciting too.

Mile 1: 9:06
Mile 2: 9:18
Mile 3: 9:24
Mile 4: 9:12
Mile 5: 9:29
Mile 6: 9:38

There were water/Gatorade stations at miles 2.5 and 5.5 along the 7mile route. I was sort of using this run as a practice run for the Bellin next Saturday. After the first mile or so, people were pretty spread out and I stayed behind the same person the whole time. I didn’t run with anyone, but that was okay. I just got lost in my thoughts. It was a nice morning to run and I hope the weather is this nice next Saturday.

Right after the last water station, I thought I had a rock in my shoe. It actually turned out to be a huge hole in my sock and my foot was painfully rubbing my shoe. It hurt so badly. That was the only time I stopped (besides the water stations). Two guys caught up with me then and we finished about the same time.

Bagels and grapes were set out for us when we got back, along with water and coffee. One of the guys that caught up with me, came up to me and said that it looked like I had a good run. They followed me the whole time and my pace was dead on the whole time, except for when I checked out my shoe pain. I thanked him and then he went to go get some water. That made my day! I am always worried about my pacing. Going too fast, too slow, going all over. Best comment.

Next week I won’t be able to join them, because I’ll be running the Bellin, but I’m hoping to go every week. I would love to make some running friends. Everyone today seemed really friendly and helpful.

I ran 7, but forgot to start my watch right away

Juneathon day 2 complete: 7mile run. 1:04:32

Categories: exercise, health, Juneathon, life, photography, racing, running | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Blog at WordPress.com.