Not This Again!

This weekend is the Bellin Run 10k. And this is the projected weather for Saturday

Another hot, hot, hot race day! Just like the Cellcom Green Bay Marathon.

This race is sort of weird for me. I signed up in May and the race is already this weekend. I didn’t “train” for this race with it being right after my half. It isn’t a big race for me, like the half-marathon, I’ve ran 6+ miles already.

Don’t get my wrong, I’m really looking forward to this race.  The past two weekends have been pretty uneventful and I’ve been longing to go to a race expo and have a weekend like my half-marathon weekend. There are supposed to be 15,000+ registered runners. That’s crazy! It’s one of the bigger races in Wisconsin and one of the biggest 10ks in the US. It’s actually being televised this year.

Although part of me isn’t like “Gung ho” about it. I’ve been pretty focused on the half-marathon and now my marathon training that I really haven’t thought at all about this race. Haven’t thought about my goal time or pacing or anything. And that saddens me because I AM really looking forward to this race. It’s the Bellin Run! Countless years before I’ve seen the results in the newspaper the next day. Now I’m going to be one of those names.

So today I started thinking about timing and pacing and what my goal time I would like to have. The only 10k I’ve ran has been in my training (57:34) and I would really, really, really (really, really, really) like to beat that time. Last week I ran my angry pace run of 5miles in 45min. Even if I ran a 10min/mi that last mile I would still beat my time. It would be fantastic to break 55min.

I watched a video with a description of the course and there isn’t a lot of turns. Pretty straight. The first two miles is a gradual uphill, then a downhill with a sharp uphill and that’s the halfway point. Then it’s flat and straight until the finish. Sounds pretty decent to me. There are five water stations along the course and I plan to stop at all of them if it’s going to be so hot. That seemed to work well for me during the half-marathon.

My plan for the rest of the week is to drink plenty of water leading up to the race. I want to buy some Gatorade or a drink of that nature for after the race. After the Cellcom they handed out water, but I knew my body needed more than that at that time. I couldn’t really think clearly and after I went to the bathroom, I needed something right now. So I would like it if my dad had something with him for after the race.

I still want to do my long run of 9miles at some point this week, whether it’s Thursday or tomorrow. I might not have to work tomorrow and it would be great to do 9miles and then do 3miles on both Thursday and Friday leading to race day (pseudo tapering). We will see what tomorrow brings. Otherwise, 9miles Thursday, 3miles Friday.

Yes I want to beat my previous 10k time, but if it’s hot, I know I will need to slow it down. I’m hoping that by doing my marathon training in the afternoons, my body has gotten used to running in warmer temperatures. It’s been two weeks since my half-marathon and I’ve ran in the afternoon for almost every run after. I think my body might be more prepared for the heat. But I will still listen to my bodies cues if I need to slow down.

I have my outfit picked out already. Almost the same as what I wore for my half. Stick with what you know. I was perfectly comfortable running 13.1 miles in that. 6.2 should feel the same.

3 days remaining. The expo is Friday afternoon. My sister and I are planning on picking up my bib and then probably driving the course again. My dad is coming with me to the race on Saturday because it doesn’t start until 8:00am. I want to tape the race too, seeing it’s being televised.

Categories: exercise, health, life, racing, running, summer | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Not This Again!

  1. Pingback: No direction… | RunJunky

  2. Pingback: Get ready, get steady… Go! « Run for 2012

  3. Pingback: Pre-race: Rest or Run?? | RunJunky

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

