Juneathon Day 9: Bellin Run 10k Recap

This morning was the Bellin Run 10k and it went really well!

Friday, my sister and I went to the expo, which was held in Astor Park in Green Bay. It was really hot, but the booths were all under tents, so it wasn’t too bad. I picked up my bib and t-shirt. This was the first race I’ve been in that’s used Corrals, and I ended up being in Corral 3. Then we did some browsing around and shopping. I was able to register for the Fox Cities Marathon and it was $10 off the current registration price! $60, I’ll take that. I also bought some white shorts and a blue Bellin Run shirt.

This race isn’t capped, so there were roughly 18,400 people running. The largest race I’ve been in so far.

Expo

This pool looked so refreshing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got home after the expo and got all my things together. The chip for my shoe had the race name and date on it! I thought that was pretty fancy!

Outfit!

The race didn’t start until 8:00am this morning, so I got up at 6:00 and ate a banana, a Clif Bar, and drank some water. My dad and I left at about 6:30. We were able to find a decent parking spot and then we walked to Astor Park.

My aunt was running too, and we found her out of 18,000 people!

She was in Corral 1. Speedster.

Around 7:35 we migrated over to our corrals. I gave my camera to my dad (he’s not that great with technology) and went to wait for the start.

Next to me in the Corral was a guy with a shirt that said “Bellin Run Legend”. I wanted to talk to him, but I was too nervous shy. The Bellin Run Legends have ran in all 36 Bellin Runs. That’s a pretty good accomplishment! Their bibs were red, instead of the color corresponding to what corral you were in.

At 8:00 the race started and my dad caught a few pictures of the first groups of people (which was great because I never get to see the start!)

My Team Triumph

This organization lets kids and adults with disabilities participate in road races, even if they can’t run. The disabled person, known as the captain, is pushed or pulled through the race by their angel. My Team Triumph has been in three of the races I’ve done (Oshkosh, Cellcom, Bellin).

 

 

 

 

 

 

Elites

Crazy guy in the green suit!

I crossed the start line at 8:08. The course is laid out well. It goes through Green Bay and then through some residential areas. The only downside was that there wasn’t a whole lot of shade. When it’s 75 degrees, everyone was looking for shade. There was one stretch where there were NO TREES AT ALL. It was super hot and no aid stations on that road either. A few hills, but nothing too steep. Lots of spectators. Radio stations were at almost every mile marker. There was energy (and people) everywhere.

For this race, I really wanted to beat my 10k time (57:34). I used a pace calculator that I found online to figure out what I’d have to run for a solid 57:00. This morning I wrote them on my wrist so I would remember. Even though it was supposed to be hot, I’ve ran in the afternoon since my half-marathon and I think my body is getting better running in the warmer temperatures.

I started out slowly. I was feeling pretty good. The heat wasn’t TOO bad yet, and this was the part of the course with shade. Because it was only 6.2 miles, I didn’t plan on taking water/Gatorade at every aid station. I planned on stopping at 2. Also, like the Cellcom, residents were encouraged to put out sprinklers.

Mile 1: 9:29

Mile 2: 9:18

Mile 3: 9:06

That first mile was a little crazy. There were obviously a ton of people to weave around and I just couldn’t find a decent pace. I was trying to not go out too fast. It was hard. Mile 2 seemed to fly by, probably because it was downhill. I took some water at the aid station around mile 2. Mile 3 was kind of a blur. I think that was the part with no shade. My time at the 5k point was 29:05.

Mile 4: 9:03 (I didn’t feel that fast!)

Mile 5: 9:12

Mile 6: 9:09

I took some Gatorade around mile 5 and I think I lost some of my speed there. The water stations were really crowded. There were also a lot of kids participating in this race, and they always ran in groups. It was hard to weave around them and most of them were running sort of willy-nilly.

Whenever I’m training and I have mile 1 left, I keep repeating that in my head. I countdown that last mile “3/4s to go!” “Halfway done!” “You’re so close!” Well, I definitely did that during that last mile. As we got closer to the 5.5 mile mark, there were more and more spectators. I knew the finish was so close. That last bit I was just running on pure adrenaline. Running for a new PR. It felt great! I missed where my dad and uncle were standing, but my dad caught a picture! Yay!

I ran fast, fast, fast to the finish and I did beat my 10k time! By 16secs! That first mile was slower than I wanted, but I’m still happy with my new PR!

Once you crossed the finish line, there was a LONG walk back to the park. There were people handing out water and you could get a finish photo for free. I got a photo and then my aunt and I got one together too.  We went back to the park, but it was getting really hot, so we left.

Overall, it was a good race, even with the heat. The crowd support was great. The water stations seemed to have plenty of water and there were extra precautions due to the heat. The only downside to this race is the amount of runners on a 10k course. Some of the bigger half-marathons have about the same amount of runners, but those runners can spread out over 13.1 miles. Over 6.2 miles, there isn’t a lot of space for people to spread around. So that was the only downside to not having this event capped.

I’m happy with my new 10k. And it was my first 10k! Next up (once I register) is the Firecracker 5k on the Fourth of July!

Juneathon Day 9: 6.2 miles. 57:18

Categories: exercise, health, Juneathon, life, photography, racing, running | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Juneathon Day 9: Bellin Run 10k Recap

  1. Pingback: June Summary/July Goals « Footsteps and Fotos

  2. Pingback: 2012: Running « Footsteps and Fotos

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

