Fox Firecracker 5k Recap

This morning was the Fox Firecracker 5k and it was a HOT one!

Yesterday was the race expo from 4pm-7pm at Riverview Middle School in Kaukauna. It was quick and painless. I had to find my bib number from the list of racers and then proceed to pick up my shirt and bib. In and out in about 10min.

Today I got up at 6:30 and ate a Clif bar and banana. I really wanted to PR this race, but with the heat, I wasn’t sure if that was going to be possible. When I looked at the weather before I left, it was already 77 degrees. Whoa.

When I got there, I had to park about 10min away from the starting area. By the time I was done walking from my car to the starting area, I was already sweating. Well, this shall be an interesting race.

The University of Wisconsin marching band was there for entertainment before the race. Also, there were skydivers that fell from the sky and each had a different flag attached to them. That was pretty cool. I’ve never seen anything like that.

The UW Band led us to the starting line and played the Star Spangled Banner when we got there. Just standing there made me sweat. The gun went off and it was time to run.

The first half mile was really hard. I couldn’t get going because it was hard to breathe with the heat. Once I got going, it went better, not great, but better.

Mile 1: 8:31 (eh)

One thing that I didn’t like about this race was that we couldn’t use the whole width of the road to run. We ran on the left-hand side of the road and the right-hand side was just empty for the occasional car the police let through. I guess because Kaukauna is a little town, there couldn’t be too many roads blocked. But only having half the road made it really crowded and added to the heat seeing we had to be really close.

Oh hello mile 2. Hello hills. There were quite a few hills, bigger hills on this mile. No fun in this hot weather. I tried to keep trekking along, but the heat was taking a toll with the hills. I took some water and dumped it on my head at this mile. I was already wet from sweating, might as well get drenched.

Mile 2: 8:54

The next mile I felt a little better, actually. I tried to kick it into gear for the last mile. It was going well, until I got near the end, I felt like I was going to be sick. I slowed down a little and threw some water on my head. That made me feel a little better and I sprinted to the finish, just to get finished.

Mile 3: 8:30

Finish time- 26:27. BARELY a new PR. I beat my old 5k time by 5seconds. If it wouldn’t have been so hot, I probably would have done better, but we can’t control the weather. I’m definitely happy with my time considering the heat. I took 5th in my age division out of 35.

When the race got done, I drank some water and drenched myself some more. The results were posted shortly after and then I left.

This race reminded me of the Turkey Trot. There were lots of families running and walking because it was the Fourth of July, so that makes it a great event. This was a nice small town race. The course was nice, with plenty of shade. It was about 15min from my house, so not that far for me to get to.

Categories: exercise, health, life, racing, running, summer | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Fox Firecracker 5k Recap

  1. Barely a new best is still a new best! Especially in the heat. Great effort! I did a 10k on Memorial Day that was really hilly in 80+ degrees, and I didn’t even come close to my best. Nicely done

  2. Pingback: 2012: Running « Footsteps and Fotos

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

