Noodleini Race Recap

I ran the Noodleini 15k on November 25, 2012.

I had wanted to run this race last year, but wasn’t able to when I was hurt. So I was pretty excited to run this year. Mainly because you got a gift certificate for a free meal at Noodles and Company. Score.

Although, I wasn’t planning on getting sick the two days leading up to the race and I didn’t plan on it snowing either. Boo! I went Black Friday shopping and beat some of the crowds by going at 8:30 Friday morning. But the stores were still warm and busy. That afternoon I didn’t feel well at all and came home and just napped the rest of the day. I woke up Saturday and just laid around and napped more. Surprisingly I felt really good after eating some saltines and managed to get in the shower and decided to go pick up my race packet and shirt. I went over to my friend Tom’s house and hung out with him and my two cousins that night. I felt better and better as the night went on.

I woke up on Sunday to new fallen snow. Crap. I had never ran in snow and I was still worried about my cold/sick/whatever flu I had. My dad came with me to the race in case I couldn’t finish.

The race started at 8am and I was hoping to finish in 1:25-ish. Once I started running though, I knew that wasn’t happening. The roads were still a little snowy/slippery and my body wasn’t fully recovered.

I felt like this race went on forever! It was pretty boring, no crowds. The roads were open to traffic and it was awkward when we had to run along a road where people were trying to get to church. The whole time I just really wanted to be done. Some of the residential areas we ran through were pretty slick and I had to slow down a lot and run around the road to find clear spots. It was more of a mentally exhausting race than anything. Keeping my footing and just keeping my body going.

I crossed the finish line in 1:29:28 and found my dad. I was very glad to be done with the race. Ryan’s mom, his sister Trisha and her husband Jesse and his other sister Robin did the 5k. We talked with them and then went home.

Being the last race of the year, I would have liked to end on a better note. But I’m glad I ran and was able to run after being sick.

Categories: exercise, health, life, racing, running, winter | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Noodleini Race Recap

  1. Awesome job!! Free meal at a pasta place..HECK YES!

  2. Pingback: 2012: Running « Footsteps and Fotos

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

