Daily Archives: March 16, 2012

Project 365: Days 59-65

This year is just flying by. I can’t believe it’s the middle of March already!

February 28

I haven’t been a size 9 in shoes since probably 7th grade! But these fit like a glove! I was so excited.

I missed taking a picture on Leap Day. Epic fail.

March 1

This book is awesome. I can’t wait for the movie.

March 2

I threw out some moldy bread for animals to eat and some animal must have took the bread and put it on the fence post, because I just threw it out the door! Haha.

March 3

I hope this is the last snow we see until December.

March 4

My sister wants a yellow mustang (she’s 16). So I had to take a picture of this one for her.

March 5

YEEEEAAAHHH! Happy Birthday Oreo!!

March 5

Awesome.

March 6

This is a mustang that was parked at work.

Categories: Food, life, photography, project 365, Uncategorized, winter | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Fitness Friday: Half-Marathon Training Week 1

I started my Half-Marathon training this week, and so far it’s going well! The weather has been amazing here this week. I actually wore shorts almost all week! Definitely an interesting winter without any snow.

I’m following the Hal Higdon Half-Marathon Novice 2 program. I tweaked it a little to fit my schedule and it’s working out nicely. My schedule has 3 mile run every Monday, either a pace or a run on Tuesday (of varying distances), Wednesday is another 3 mile run, Thursday 2 mile run, Friday cross-train, and Saturday is my long run. Sunday is rest day. I will probably have to figure out a little different schedule for weeks 4 and 6 because I have a 5k on Sunday. But we will cross that bridge when it gets closer.

Here is week 1 of my training:

Monday: Treadmill run 3.14 miles. Easy first 0.5 miles, faster for 2 miles, easy last 0.5 miles. I also did some strength training before.

Tuesday: Treadmill run 3.3 miles. Ladder. Ran 1 min, rest 1 min, ran 2 min, rest 2 min…up to 5:1, then came back down. Pilates before my run.

Wednesday: Ran outside! 3.2 miles. I felt really good during this run.

Thursday: Ran outside 2.1 miles. It was a bit colder and windy, but it was a short run. Strength training before.

Friday: I had planned on doing Pilates and the Elliptical today, but our Internet was kept pooping out while I was trying to Pilates via Netflix Instant Stream. So I went and did the Elliptical and then decided to do the Jillian Michaels‘ Yoga Meltdown. It’s a killer.

Tomorrow is my first “long run” of 4 miles! Hopefully I can do that outside!

Are you training for any races right now?

Categories: exercise, health, life, running, strength training | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.